Rautavaara Composition Workshop and Competition 2016 for young composers

The 2nd International Einojuhani Rautavaara Chamber Choir Composition Workshop and Competition is an opportunity for young composers to work intensively with a professional chamber choir.

Applications are invited from composers of any nationality born between
1 November 1980 and 31 October 1997 inclusive.

Application is free.

The application deadline is 31 August 2015.
Participants will work with the Helsinki Chamber Choir and two renowned composers in a workshop in November 2015 before completing their final composition for the competition. The competition will take place at the Viitasaari Time of Music Festival on 4–6 July 2016.
At the conclusion of the final concert, an international jury, headed by composer Georg Friedrich Haas, will award the Einojuhani Rautavaara Prize, which consists of a cash prize of 7000 euros, a performance of the winning Competition entry during the Helsinki Chamber Choir’s 2016/17 season and a commission to write a 12-minute work for the Helsinki Chamber Choir for its 2017/18 season. The value of the commission is 4000 euros.
Zesses Seglias, winner of the 1st Rautavaara Competition in 2012, says: „Working with the Helsinki Chamber Choir was beyond any expectations a composer might have when taking part in a competition. The process was a constant back-and-forth stream of feedback at the end of which I got a highly professional performance.” Since winning the Rautavaara Competition, Zesses Seglias has been commissioned by Klangforum Wien and the Bregenzer Festspiele.
See the Competition flyer at:
Further information:
Rautavaara Competition Manager Martti Anttila:

Skildu eftir svar

Netfang þitt verður ekki birt. Nauðsynlegir reitir eru merktir *